I’ve recently been inspired by letterpress - like, majorily. I’ve had an affinity for typography, layout, and design for awhile (was the newsletter editor for my Scout troop, webmaster for OA chapter, etc.) and it finds it’s way tangentially into my work. But the latest quarterly special edition from Field Notes entitled “The United States of Letterpress” (I’ll post here separately) just really tripped an ignition point and I’ve been headed down the rabbit hole ever since (even signing up for a tabletop letterpress workshop at a local art center scheduled for next month).

Above are some of the designs that have caught my attention: The DC cherry blossoms piece and the January calendar piece are from No Plan Press. The Enjoy Your Family piece is from a series by Ben Blount. and the Adventure piece is from Gingerly Press.

The simplicity, font choice, layout, crisp appearance, clean colors, and more have such a human appeal. And the fact that each piece was wrought by a person’s hand adds a layer of connectedness.

There’s probably more to come on this front, but I leave that here for now … And if you’re interested to see more, check out the letterpress hashtag on the Insta.