Proud to say changed out my bike chain over the weekend. A step in my aspirations to become an amateur #bikemechanic. Couple things I learned in the process:

Bike chains are rated on “speed”, e.g. “11-speed”. But speed in this case doesn’t refer to the total number of bike speeds, but the number on the rear cogset (i.e., the rows of teeth on the back wheel). In my case, although my bike is 24-speed, I needed an 8-speed chain since my rear cogset had 8 rows of teeth. To size the chain to your bike after purchase, wrap it around the largest rows on the front and back (without threading through the normal path which includes the jockey wheel) - you want one link of overlap. Remove any excess links. Of course be sure to lubricate the chain when you’re done.

Most of what I’m learning is from “Zinn & the Art of Road Bike Maintenance” - great information in there. It’s not exactly a “bike maintenance for dummies” as it’s written with a little more lingo, but after spending time with it it starts to click and the wheels start to turn. ;) 🚲